Back to News

March 08, 2023

Winners announced for the 2023 Local Women's Awards

Category Media Release.

A diverse cross section of local women in our community was celebrated this morning at the TFSS Local Women’s Awards ceremony, held at the Tamworth Golf Club.

TFSS CEO Belinda Kotris was thankful for the community support of the awards ceremony.

“It has been invigorating to see the awards grow from last year, and we are excited to see how the event can grow in the future.”

“I would like to thank the NSW Government (Women's NSW), Tamworth Aboriginal Medical Service and Centrepoint Tamworth for sponsoring the event,” said Ms Kotris.

Thirty nominations were considered for four different award categories, Outstanding Community Woman, Outstanding Community Businesswoman, Outstanding Community Woman (16-24 years) and the TFSS Award of Resilience.

Outstanding Community Woman

Tamworth Pride President, Ms Dianne Harris was announced winner of the Outstanding Community Woman of the Year, for her unwavering dedication to supporting LGBTQIA+ community across the New England region.

For her dedication to supporting healthy lifestyle, Ms Victoria Deane from Manilla Parkrun was awarded runner up in this category. Victoria is commended for her dedication to creating an inclusive group supporting health and wellbeing for all abilities.

Outstanding Community Businesswoman

Ms Steph Cameron was awarded winner of the Outstanding Community Businesswoman. She is acknowledged for her commitment towards work, volunteering, and providing guidance as a board member for the Local Lands Services and previously President of the Tamworth Business Chamber.

Described as an inclusive and uplifting supporter of local businesswoman, Ms Tiarni William was awarded runner up in this category. Tiarni owns Hello Blossum Flower Bouquet and is focused on making local products accessible.  

Outstanding Community Woman (16-24 years)

Tamworth Region Youth Council member Elle Woods was awarded Outstanding Community Woman (16-24 years) and is acknowledged for her commitment to the school community in the SRC over many years.

Ms Alicia Turner was awarded runner up in this category. Alicia is described as a diligent young student with a strong passion for social justice, and is fast to educate her peers on respect, tolerance, and kindness for others.

TFSS Award of Resilience

Rebecca was awarded the TFSS Award of Resilience for her strength and resilience throughout challenging times.